Aviation Maintenance Technician (AMT) Day 2017

Aviation provides vital connectivity to our world. For over a century, it has offered us safe travel, efficiency, freedom, adventure and commerce. Most recently, expedited cargo operations and lower costs of flying have changed how we are able to connect with each other across the globe. Aviation has become an essential force in our every day lives. That said, this fact is simple: aviation cannot function without the hard work and dedication of AMTs.

AMTs  touch our lives in ways we ought to consider. Their hands make planes, helicopters and airships fly. Their work, challenges, deadlines and accomplishments are present in every commercial air delivery received or flight taken. A&Ps are inside of the machines. Every button a pilot has ever pushed—that’s them. They don’t ask for thanks, because a job well done is a requirement. People’s lives depend on it.

Charles E. Taylor is considered the first AMT. He was the mechanical support behind the Wright Brother’s iconic aviation legacy. AMT Day is celebrated every May 24th to honor his life and memory, and to recognize the professional airmen and airwomen who keep our airborne aviation infrastructure safe. To us, every day is AMT day.

Happy AMT Day 2017 from all of us at NAA!

Tampa Bay Career Fair – May 2017

Did you know that over 679,000 new maintenance technicians will be needed in the aviation industry by 2035? Boeing’s 2016 Pilot and Technician Outlook has indicated that the demand for skilled technicians outpaces the rate at which positions can be filled.

IMG_2908 copy

NAA graduates are trained to fill the skills gap and enter the aviation global marketplace as certified A&P mechanics. Some of the industry’s best employers attend our Career Fairs to meet and recruit our students, whose reputation for excellence precedes them.

IMG_2913edit copy

Career Fairs are a milestone in the NAA experience. Direct contact with industry representatives allows students to get a clearer picture of what they want and what they’ll be doing after graduation. Plus, there are the interviews.

Our most recent Career Fair took place at the Tampa Bay campus on Thursday, May 11, 2017. 30 companies attended, 103 onsite interviews took place, 39 offers were made on the spot and 34 offers are now pending.

NAA and Delta TechOps Partner to Meet Demand for AMTs

National Aviation Academy (NAA) and Delta TechOps have announced a partnership to assist in meeting the critical demand for qualified aviation maintenance technicians within the aviation industry.

Aviation Maintenance Technicians (AMTs) keep aircraft in safe flying condition by servicing, repairing and overhauling aircraft and aircraft components while following detailed manufacturer specifications and federal regulations set by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). AMTs are in high demand as the industry expands and technicians age out of the aviation workforce.

38 AMT schools were selected to work with Delta to prepare for the hiring need, which is projected to exceed 679,000 technicians by 2035, according to Boeing’s 2016 Pilot and Technician Outlook.

NAA was subject to a strict evaluation process and was found to meet FAA standards as well as Delta’s high principles that exceed industry standards. Educational programming at NAA will benefit from Delta as a resource for continuous improvement. Additionally, partnering with Delta will broaden student access to AMT careers available within the global aviation industry.

“Delta consistently delivers innovation, leadership and teamwork at the highest level. Students will benefit immeasurably from this partnership as we work together to produce quality aviation maintenance professionals,” said David Mead, Senior Executive Vice President for NAA.

NAA incorporates the latest technology and industry resources to deliver high quality aviation maintenance training. Partnering with Delta TechOps will strengthen NAA’s ability to achieve its mission of preparing students for employment in the aviation industry.